Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBKEY

What is LibKey Nomad?

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects users with library-licensed content and open access full-text articles. LibKey Nomad is available for Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, Brave, Vivaldi and Firefox.

Visit this page to watch a short video and download the extension for your web browser.

LibKey Nomad does not require the creation of a personal account, it does not track users or hold credentials, and it is only active when on the web page of a scholarly publisher or database.

When there is a full-text PDF available to you, the LibKey icon will appear on the bottom left corner of the screen page, and also next to any article that the Library has access to:

 

Getting Started

1. Install the LibKey Nomad extension for your browser by using this linkhttps://libkeynomad.com/

2. Search for and select "Nelson Mandela University" from the list of institutions.

3. Look for the LibKey Nomad button to download PDFs on publisher websites, such as Wikipedia, PubMed, Web of Science and more.

 

What will happen when LibKey Nomad is installed?

PubMed

When searching PubMed, LibKey Nomad shows options for downloading a PDF, linking to an article, or additional access options, and you can view the cover images of the journals that articles appear in. LibKey Nomad also provides a link to the complete issue of a journal. This allows for browsing the table of contents for the issue in which an article appears, increasing discoverability of similar articles from the same publication.

 

 

Wikipedia

LibKey Nomad also works with Wikipedia. When viewing the list of references for an entry, a "Download PDF" button will appear after the citations that full text is available for through the XULA University Library. An "Article Link" button may appear for citations that are from sources that do not support linking directly to the PDF. For articles not available from the XULA University Library, an "Access Options..." button will appear that provides options for requesting the articles through ILL.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Publisher Websites

When browsing publisher and other web pages, LibKey Nomad provides a link to download the PDF of an article available through the Nelson Mandela University Library. It is not necessary to first connect through the Nelson Mandela University Library website. If the full text is not available through the Nelson Mandela University Library subscriptions, a button for "Access Options" will appear and you will be connected to options for requesting the article through ILL.

NMU Library Website       Connect with us on: FaceBook   YouTube

G-GVBBM8RVQV