OpenAthens is Nelson Mandela University's new authentication system for accessing premium academic databases, e-journals, and digital resources.
OpenAthens is a service that provides single sign-on access to the Nelson Mandela University Library's extensive collection of online resources. This includes databases, e-journals, and e-books from various publishers.
Instead of needing to remember multiple usernames and passwords for different platforms, you only need your NMU network credentials (the same username and password you use for student portal, email, etc.) to log in through OpenAthens.
Your digital key to unlock a world of academic information, available to you anytime, anywhere - whether you're on campus or studying remotely.
Just like your student card gives you access to campus buildings, OpenAthens gives you access to premium academic content that would normally cost thousands of rands to access individually.
Laptop, tablet, smartphone - OpenAthens works on all your devices
On campus, at home, traveling - access never stops
Your access is protected with university-grade security
Quick authentication gets you to your research faster
| Resource Type | What's Included | Value to You |
|---|---|---|
| Academic Databases | EBSCO, ProQuest, JSTOR, ScienceDirect | Peer-reviewed research for assignments |
| E-Journals | Thousands of academic journals | Latest research in your field |
| Digital Books | E-books, reference works, textbooks | 24/7 access to required readings |
| News & Media | News databases, archives | Current events and historical context |
Watch this informative video to understand how OpenAthens works and why it benefits students and researchers worldwide.
As an NMU student, OpenAthens gives you access to resources worth millions of rands - all included in your student experience. Use this powerful tool to excel in your studies and research!
Questions about OpenAthens? Contact NMU Library at library@mandela.ac.za or visit the library help desk.
Follow these steps to access the Library's online resources via OpenAthens. This service is for NMU staff and students.
On the database or e-book login page, look for a search box labeled "Find your organisation".
Search for: "Nelson Mandela University"
From the search results, click on the "Nelson Mandela University" link. This will redirect you to the official NMU sign-in page.
You will now be on the NMU Sign-In page. Use your standard NMU network credentials to log in.
After a successful login, you will be redirected to the database, journal, or e-book you originally wanted to access. You should remain logged in for your entire browser session.
Try searching for just "Mandela". If you still can't find it, the resource might not use OpenAthens. Try accessing it directly from the library's database A-Z list on the main library website.
Your OpenAthens login uses your standard university network password. If you are having trouble, try resetting your password through the central NMU ITS password reset portal.
Scenario 2: Direct NMU Sign-In Page
In many cases, links from the NMU Library Databases page will automatically identify you as an NMU user and will take you directly to the NMU branded sign-in page. After successful login, you will be directed to the resource.
A successful login from the NMU sign-in page will keep you authenticated during your browser session, preventing further login challenges from other OpenAthens resources.
Important Reminders:
Please remember, you must not share your usernames and passwords with anyone.
The use of the Library's e-resources for commercial benefit is strictly prohibited.
NMU Library Website Connect with us on: FaceBook YouTube
G-GVBBM8RVQV