Faculty of Education

Introduction: Short Loan/Study collection

• Items placed in a separate enclosed area at the request of lecturers in anticipation of high demand by users.
•  Items from this collection are issued for a short period of time. 
• This collection is located at the Circulation Desk of the library

You need to find the following information in the Classic Catalogue before you go to circulation desk where the collection is housed. 

•  Lecturer’s name
•  Call number (shelf number) of the item  

Short Loan Collection

• Items are located at the Circulation Desk of the library and is identified by a red dot on the spine
• To be able to borrow these items, users must present their student cards
• Items can only be used in the library for 1 hour
• One renewal in person per item is allowed, provided another user has not reserved the item
• Overdue charges: R2.00 per item per hour after the 1st hour

You need to find the following information in the Classic Catalogue before you go to Circulation Desk where the collection is housed. 

•  Lecturer’s name
•  Call number (shelf number) of the item  

 Study Collection:

• Contains titles of books or prescribed textbooks in demand
• Is in a separate enclosed area at the Circulation Desk of the library

• To be able to borrow items, users must present their cards

• Items may only be borrowed for three days

• Items must be returned to the library branch from where they were issued e.g. a Study Collection book taken out from North branch must be returned to North

• No renewals or reservations are made for Study Collection items

• Overdue charges: R3.00 per item per day after the 3rd day

Study Collection during exam periods

During the examination period Short Loan Rules will be applied to Study Collection items – only issued for one hour.

You need to find the following information in the Classic Catalogue before you go to Circulation Desk where the collection is housed. 

•  Lecturer’s name
•  Call number (shelf number) of the item