LibGuides: Referencing: Reference management tools

Reference management tools

Reference Management tools also known as Citation Management tools usually have these basic functions that allow you to:

Gather and transfer references from Library Catalogues, Library databases, Google Scholar and webpages into your personal online library.
Insert in-text references into documents in a wide variety of reference styles as you write a paper
Generate a bibliographies/reference lists in a wide variety of styles (APA, Harvard, Chicago, etc.) in documents

Mandela Uni has a subscription to EndNote, an advanced reference management tool, that allows all Mandela Uni students and staff to use EndNote, The Library provides training in EndNote as well as online EndNote guides and tutorials.

Source: https://libguides.lib.cuhk.edu.hk/endnote20

Mendeley is a reference management tool that enables you to manage citations and PDFs using a desktop client or through your account on Mendeley web. Mendeley also includes plug-ins for Word or OpenOffice, so you can easily create citations and/or bibliographies as you write. It also allows you to organise your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.

RefWorks is an online research tool to help you manage your references when writing and collaborating with fellow researchers. RefWorks organizes, stores, and shares all types of information, and can instantly create citations and bibliographies.

Zotero is a free desktop software platform and browser add-on for Firefox, Chrome, and Safari. A useful feature is the ability to extract bibliographic data directly from many web pages, meaning that adding a reference to your database can be as easy as clicking a button in your browser.