AccessMedicine

Auscultation Classroom provides students with the ability to hear an abnormal heart sound, while simultaneously watching a graphic of the intracardiac abnormality that is occurring. The students learn proper auscultation techniques for each murmur. The modules also discuss basics regarding clinical findings associated with the murmurs. This method of learning is designed to help students grasp this difficult concept and solidify their understanding. The target audience includes medical students, NP students, and PA students.

Each module offers an introductory slide, an auscultation points slide, and a final slide. Please ensure that the user has the volume at an appropriate level to hear the murmur. If the volume is low, the murmur will not be heard.

Diagnostic and Imaging Studies includes over 30,000 world-class images useful for diagnosis that can be downloaded. We have more than 70 video clips of foundational diagnostic and imaging studies in five different specialties.

Harrison’s Pathophysiology Animations explain complex pathophysiology concepts in new and beautifully animated, easy-to-understand brief videos. Each episode covers a disease mechanism. Running time of each is a student-friendly 4-8 minutes. Nationally regarded educator Scott Stern, MD, from the University of Chicago wrote and narrated each episode, giving our series authenticity often lacking in other medical animations.

Patient Safety Modules will provide you with an introduction to the core concepts of patient safety in an interactive and self-paced learning environment. The current course includes three modules. Each module can be used as a stand-alone tool or as a component of a broader curriculum in patient safety. We strongly recommend that you work through each module (navigable on the left) from beginning to end because the concepts will build on each other within a single unit. The modules include activity buttons and video clips, so please be sure to explore the content available which will help you understand these concepts in your own role within the healthcare system.

Complete Human Anatomy Modules:

These interactive modules allow for visualization of the human body in an interactive, 3D format where both Male Complete Anatomy Module and Female Complete Anatomy Module can be viewed. Choose a module and then utilize the options on the left-side of the screen to learn more about human anatomy.

Anatomy Module Features:

Expand: Provide your learners with more space to immerse in your interactive 3D experience with our new Expand mode. When embedded on desktop or Android (not available on iOS), learners can now expand the browser to span the entire screen without having to leave your page or open a new tab.

Tools: We're introducing a dedicated, and more scalable, toolbar that will promote exploration of the 3D model. "Dissect" is now called "Hide," and we're now giving users access to the "Fade" effect from Human Studio which will allow you to make a structure transparent. Dissection for removal by layers and structures, object tree, tools to identify and rotate.

Help: We've dramatically improved our "Help" experience with richer graphics that show learners on how to interact with the model and a comprehensive 3D interaction key that changes based on the device the learner is using (desktop or mobile).

Anatomy Descriptions: Learners will now have the option of reading more about specific anatomical structures as they explore. When available, individual structures will be linked to Wikipedia descriptions, which are generally sourced from Gray's Anatomy.

Anatomy Search: Learners will now be able to search for specific anatomical structures in your model by name or browse through all of the structures contained in the model in the Anatomy Tree. They can then click on the name to locate and zoom in on the structure in the model. The Anatomy Tree is now contained within the new Anatomy Search tool (right side of the search bar, tree icon).

Reset: Refresh the 3D model without having to reload the page.

Human Anatomy Tours:

• These focused, 3-D modules guide medical students through systems-based tours of the human anatomy, helping them to learn human anatomy in a systems-based, interactive format. Launching with 7 modules/tours, additional modules/tours will continue to be added to the collection throughout the year.
• A number of enhancements have been made to existing modules to make them more dynamic. For example, the Endocrine System tour now demonstrates thyroid hormone release.
• Each module features roughly 7-10 slides.

System Modules:

• The BioDigital System Modules are live on AccessMedicine.  This is a collection of over 300 interactive, 3-D modules designed to deliver a focused learning experience while also offering a deep-dive into our core foundational textbooks.
• Users navigate to the modules from the Multimedia dropdown on the AccessMedicine homepage by first clicking "Human Anatomy Modules".
• The user will then be taken to the BioDigital System Modules landing page, which displays 17 specialties housing over 300 modules. 
• After selecting a module, the user will note that each module is 3D.  Each module is accompanied by text that was selected individually for the module by a SME from one of our foundational textbooks.  The user can choose to view the reading in context if they would like a deeper-dive.

Harrison’s Podclass provides illuminating and engaging discussions on key principles of internal medicine, around board-style case vignettes from the acclaimed Harrison’s Self-Assessment and Board Review. The episodes are a user-friendly 4-8 minutes in length. AccessMedicine is mobile optimized, so you can open in a browser and listen on-the-go. Currently features over 100 new audio and podclasses.

Lectures are ready-to-view or ready-to-assign for a flipped classroom pedagogy, an online course, or as a knowledge refresher. Pharmacology lecture videos are also located under “Multimedia”, then “Pharmacology”. These lectures include the pharmacology topics of cardiovascular and neurology drugs and basic pharmacotherapeutics concepts.

Patient Interview Videos are of high quality and demonstrate how to communicate with patients in challenging and unusual situations. This resource addresses some of the “softer skills” in medical education and helps to teach emotional intelligence.

Pharmacology video lectures include the pharmacology topics of cardiovascular and neurology drugs and basic pharmacotherapeutics concepts.

Physical Exam videos is a complete collection for the physical exam organized into categories from head to toe.

S2D: The Symptom to Diagnosis Podcast provides a case-based discussion of signs, symptoms and diagnostics tests to improve clinical reasoning and evidence-based practice.

​​​​​​​Run the List Podcast:

• A medical education podcast designed for medical students, new residents, and all learners looking for a high-yield review in internal medicine. Concise episodes guide listeners through the diagnosis, management, and clinical pearls for common internal medicine problems.
• Run the List is a popular and established podcast for the medical and healthcare education and training communities. It has earned numerous excellent reviews from listeners for its comprehensive and high-yield discussions on core medicine topics. Episodes are arranged and released in the form of specialty blocks, making it an excellent resource for all those taking care of patients on the internal medicine ward, whether during clerkship, elective, or general training. Each 20-minute episode takes the listener through the practical aspects of diagnosis and management through an interactive discussion with an expert who has a specific focus in medical education.
• The mission of the host team is timely and on point, to provide “a succinct, high-yield resource that covers the initial steps in clinical decision-making and management of common problems for which patients are admitted to the hospital. While there are multiple available resources that prepare students and trainees to ace exams, there are far fewer that focus on more practical advice for the wards.”
• New episodes posted every two weeks.