LibGuides: Faculty of Health Sciences: Find Databases

Where do I find Mandela University Databases?

Databases
On or off-campus access to search the databases, you must be a registered Library User and will need a Library barcode and PIN. To create your own PIN after registration in the library, click on My Library Record on the catalogue homepage and follow the instructions.

FindPlus
Find journal articles, e-books, books etc.

Specialised Databases Health Sciences

AccessPharmacy AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic,browse by organ system review textbooks,or research across leading pharmacy online references.
Access Medicine AccessMedicine is your go-to Access collection of medical learning resources featuring hundreds of books, review questions, cases, videos, podcasts, infographics, interactive 3D modules and more across the basic sciences and clinical specialties.
APA PsycInfo® The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
British Pharmacopoeia The British Pharmacopoeia(BP)is the authoritative collection of standards for UK medicines and is an essential reference for anyone involved in pharmaceutical R&D,manufacture,testing and regulation. The British Pharmacopoeia is produced by the British Pharmacopoeia Commission Secretariat, part of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency(MHRA).
CINAHL® with Full Text CINAHL® with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL®. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
JoVE Core Organized into Units and Chapters, JoVE Core Bio delivers over 300 animated videos of foundational concepts, supporting scientific learning at all levels.Hundreds of foundational concepts are explained through high-impact animations and real-life experimentation. FUNDAMENTALS CELLULAR PROCESSES GENETICS HUMAN BIOLOGY ECOLOGY EVOLUTION
Micromedex The number of drugs available today is enormous. The vast amount of information about these drugs can be mind boggling. Using a standardized outline format,the DRUGDEX® Sysytem harnesses this information and gives you easy access to current,accurate drug knowledge you can use with confidence. Reviewed by international experts,DRUGDEX evidence-based documents cover FDA-approved and investigational prescription and non prescription drugs, as well as non.U.S. preparations. Areas discussed include dosage, pharmacokinetics,cautions,interactions,clinical applications,adverse effects,comparative efficacy,drug of choice information and orphan drug status.
PubMed Central PMC is a free full-text archive mof biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine(NIH/NLM)